American Delirium Society Research Committee: Current and Future Work

The American Delirium Society includes in its mission statement the responsibility of fostering delirium research and implementation into clinical practice. To facilitate this objective, the ADS leadership created the Research Committee with the goal of establishing the home of delirium research and collaboration within the organization. The research committee hopes to foster collaboration among researchers across the organization, promote the innovation of research tools, and maximize the impact of clinical trials in delirium. The activities of the committee are generated within one of the above goals, with capabilities expected to grow along with the organization as a whole. Current members of the research committee include the following ADS members:

Noll Campbell, Chair Purdue University
Jim Rudolph Harvard University/Boston VAMC
Malaz Boustani Indiana University
Babar Khan Indiana University
Michael LaMantia Indiana University
Jin Han Vanderbilt University
Michelle Weckman Iowa University
Sapna Kudchadkar Johns Hopkins University
Ann Gruber - Baldini University of Maryland/Baltimore
Nathan Brummel Vanderbilt University
Rakesh Arora University of Manitoba
Charlie Brown Johns Hopkins University
Eduard Vasilevskis Vanderbilt University

In its early activity a subset of the committee has accepted the responsibility of creating a statement that identifies the need for improved coding practices within the existing clinical environment. The need arises from the variability in current screening and coding practices, limiting the progress of clinical care, research and education. The research committee plans to present the draft at the annual meeting in Indianapolis in 2013, subsequently publishing this work as a white paper on behalf of the ADS.

Any existing member of the ADS who wishes to engage with the research committee should contact the committee chair, Noll Campbell, at Several opportunities exist to participate in the current activity and generate new capabilities of the committee and the organization.